MANDELA: The Official Exhibition

Freedom is neither black nor white

MANDELA: The Official Exhibition

Freedom is neither black nor white

MANDELA: The Official Exhibition

Freedom is neither black nor white

Revolutionary.

Father.

Political prisoner.

International Idol.

Statesman.

Icon of the struggle against oppression.

Nelson Mandela was all of these things and more.

Nelson Mandela: The Official Exhibition is the major new global touring exhibition that takes visitors on a personal journey through the life of the world’s most iconic freedom fighter and political leader. An immersive and interactive experience covering almost 700 square metres, the exhibition features previously unseen film, photos and the display of over 150 historical artefacts and personal effects on loan from the Mandela family, museums and archives worldwide.

This unprecedented exhibition provides fresh insight into the people, places and events that formed his character and the challenges he faced. Discover Nelson Mandela as you have never known him. Nelson Mandela: The Official Exhibition – freedom is neither black nor white. is opening at 19th October, 2019 at Bikini Berlin – the perfect home for this one-of-a-kind exhibition. A portion of the exhibition proceeds will be given to the Mvezo Development Trust to support economic development programs in South Africa’s Eastern Cape.

A Revolutionary Experience

A series of experiential galleries will take you on Nelson Mandela’s journey to becoming the ‘Father of South Africa’, and a globally loved and respected figure. His epic story of heroic struggle, forgiveness and compassion is explored in new, personal and revealing ways.

You will go back in time to the rural childhood home that shaped the great leader that he became.
You will follow him through years of turbulent struggle against the apartheid regime and learn how his remarkable spirit remained unbroken, but at great personal cost.

You will relive the global celebration of his release after 27 years in prison, and his historic ascent as South Africa’s first democratically elected president.

With wisdom from the man himself, plus exclusive insights from his family and those that knew him best, visitors will see Nelson Mandela in a new light. A century since his birth and five years since his passing, what does ‘Nelson Mandela’ mean today, in a world where inequality and injustice are still rife? Nelson Mandela: The Official Exhibition asks these difficult questions and examines his legacy. Nelson Mandela’s values and unshakable belief in a better world are as vital now as they were during his lifetime.

}

Opening Hours

19.October 2019 – 15. March 2020

Monday to Saturday 10:00 am to 8:00 pm (last entry at 7:00 pm)

Sunday and bank holidays 11:00 am to 8:00 pm (last entry at 7:00 pm)

Location

Bikini Berlin
Budapester Str. 38-50,
10787 Berlin

Press

For questions please contact Julia Jonas | redcarpet pr – julia.jonas@redcarpet-pr.de

Mandela: The Official Exhibition is more than just an exhibition: A groundbreaking experience awaits the visitors which exemplifies Mandelas life and legacy and most of all gives hope for a better world.

Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela London Theatre

“A wonderfully educative exhibition about the life and times of one of the greatest leaders of modern times.”

CNN

“A major new exhibition uncovers a wealth of fresh material in an intimate portrayal of Mandela’s life.”

The Upcoming

“Not only was it (the exhibition) created to educate but to restart the conversation around how we can do our part in becoming a force for justice and what is right – even within our own small worlds and communities.”

Exhibition Heritage Partners

A portion of the exhibition proceeds will go to the Mvezo Development Trust to support economic development programs in the Eastern Cape of South Africa.

MANDELA: The Official Exhibition

Freiheit ist weder Schwarz noch Weiß

MANDELA: The Official Exhibition

Freiheit ist weder Schwarz noch Weiß

MANDELA: The Official Exhibition

Freiheit ist weder Schwarz noch Weiß

Revolutionär.

Vater.

Politischer Gefangener.

Internationales Idol.

Staatsmann.

Symbol des Kampfes gegen Unterdrückung.

Nelson Mandela war all das – und noch viel mehr.

Mandela: The Official Exhibition

Eine neue, weltweite Wanderausstellung, die die Besucher auf eine bewegende Reise durch das Leben eines der ikonischsten Freiheitskämpfer und Politiker der Welt mitnimmt. Auf einer Fläche von knapp 700 Quadratmetern bietet die Ausstellung ein eindrucksvolles und interaktives Erlebnis mit bisher ungezeigten Filmen und  Fotos. Die Ausstellung zeigt über 150 historische Artefakte und persönliche Gegenstände, die von der Familie Mandela, Museen und Archiven weltweit als Leihgabe zur Verfügung gestellt wurden.

Diese einzigartige Ausstellung gibt einen neuen Einblick von den Menschen, Orten und Ereignissen, die den Charakter Nelson Mandelas prägten, und zeigt die Herausforderungen, denen er sich stellen musste. Entdecken Sie Nelson Mandela, wie Sie ihn noch nie gesehen haben. Mandela: The Official Exhibition – Freiheit ist weder schwarz und weiß, eröffnet am 19. Oktober 2019 im Bikini Berlin – das perfekte Zuhause für diese besondere Ausstellung. Ein Teil des Ausstellungserlöses geht an den Mvezo Development Trust, um Programme zur wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung in der südafrikanischen Provinz, Ostkap zu unterstützen.

Ein revolutionäres Erlebnis

Eine Reihe immersiver Ausstellungsräume zeigt Nelson Mandelas Lebensweg von den Anfangsjahren bis zum „Vater Südafrikas“, einer  global geliebten und respektierten Persönlichkeit. Seine Geschichte von heroischem Kampf, Vergebung und Mitgefühl  wird auf neue, persönliche und aufschlussreiche Weise erzählt.

Sie können das ländliche Elternhaus Mandelas kennenlernen, welches den Grundstein für das politische Oberhaupt legte, das er wurde.

Sie werden ihm durch Jahre des turbulenten Kampfes gegen das Apartheid-Regime folgen und erfahren wie sein Geist, trotz großer persönlicher Opfer, ungebrochen blieb.

Sie werden noch einmal die globale Feier zu seiner Freilassung nach 27 Jahren im Gefängnis und seinen historischen Aufstieg zum ersten demokratisch gewählten Präsidenten Südafrikas erleben.

Mit der Weisheit des Mannes selbst und exklusiven Einblicken seiner Familie und derjenigen, die ihn am besten kannten, werden die Besucher Nelson Mandela in einem neuen Licht sehen. Was bedeutet “Nelson Mandela” heute, ein Jahrhundert nach seiner Geburt und sechs Jahre nach seinem Tod, in einer Welt, in der Ungleichheit und Ungerechtigkeit noch immer weit verbreitet sind? Nelson Mandela: The Official Exhibition stellt diese schwierigen Fragen und untersucht sein Vermächtnis. Nelson Mandelas Werte und der unerschütterliche Glaube an eine bessere Welt sind heute genauso wichtig wie zu seinen Lebzeiten.

}

Öffnungszeiten

19. Oktober 2019 bis 15. März 2020

Montag bis Samstag: 10 – 20 Uhr (letzter Einlass 19 Uhr)

Sonn- und Feiertage: 11 – 18 Uhr (letzter Einlass 17 Uhr)

Ort

Bikini Berlin
Budapester Str. 38-50,
10787 Berlin

Presse

Für Presseanfragen kontaktieren Sie bitte Julia Jonas | redcarpet pr – julia.jonas@redcarpet-pr.de

Mandela: The Official Exhibition ist mehr als nur eine Ausstellung! Die Besucher erwartet ein bahnbrechendes Erlebnis, das Mandelas Leben und sein Vermächtnis veranschaulicht und vor allem Hoffnung auf eine bessere Welt macht.

Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela London Theatre

“Eine wunderbar lehrreiche Ausstellung über das Leben eines der größten politischen Oberhäupter der Moderne”

CNN

“Eine großartige neue Ausstellung, die eine Bandbreite an neuem Material präsentiert und Mandelas Leben intim porträtiert.”

The Upcoming

“Die Ausstellung ist lehrreich, stellt aber außerdem die Frage, welchen Beitrag wir leisten können, um für mehr Gerechtigkeit zu sorgen – auch innerhalb unserer eigenen Welt und Gemeinschaft.”

Ausstellungspartner

Ein Teil des Erlöses geht an den Mvezo Development Trust, der wirtschaftliche Wachstumsprogramme am Ostkap von Südafrika finanziert.